Inspections in California: Vehicle and Smog/Emissions
When you have a vehicle shipped to California, there are certain things you must do in order to lawfully have the car registered in the state. First you must be registered as a resident. From there, you can begin the process of vehicle registration. This process may require you to pass a vehicle inspection or smog/emission inspection before it can be registered. You will have anywhere from 10 to 20 days depending on circumstances, to complete this process so it is best to get started right after the vehicle enters the state.
What Is Included in a Vehicle Inspection?
- Review of the engine compartment- check for leaks, fluid levels, condition of belts, and safe start features
- Cab check and engine start- pressure gauges, mirrors, windshield, wipers, emergency equipment, lights, heater/AC, and brakes
A-1 Auto Transport, Inc. ships vehicles worldwide. Click here or call 1-800-452-2880 to get a free, no obligation to buy price quote to ship your car.
- Steering – check boxes, hoses and linkage
- Suspension – check springs, torques, mounts, and shock absorbers
- Brakes – inspect slack adjustors, pushrods, chambers, hoses and lines, and linings
- Wheels – check rims, tires, axle seals, hub oil, lug nuts, and spacers
- Side of Vehicle – doors, windows, mirrors, fuel tank, exhaust system, frame, and drive shaft
- Rear of Vehicle – splash guards, doors, ties and lifts
Depending on the vehicle type, other facets of the vehicle may be inspected also. Everything listed above is checked over to assure it is in good condition. Each facet inspected must meet the state standards before it can pass vehicle inspection.
What Is Included in a Smog/Emissions Inspection?
After establishing residency you have 20 days to complete California’s smog/emissions inspection. If you are already a registered resident, a new car may only have 10 days to pass this inspection. However, not all vehicles must undergo this inspection.
Vehicles Exempt from the Smog/Emissions Test
- Gasoline powered vehicles made in 1975 and older
- Diesel powered vehicles made in 1997 and older
- Natural gas powered vehicles weighing over 14,000 lbs
- Diesel powered vehicles weighing over 14,000 lbs
- Electric or hybrid vehicles
All vehicles are required to take a biannual smog/emissions test unless they are 6 years or older. In this case, as the owner you will be charged $20 annually for a smog abatement fee for the first 6 years. After 6 years of paying the smog abatement fee, you are required to take the biannual test.
Auto Transport Services
- A-1 Auto Transport Annual Scholarship
- Auto Transport Companies Directory
- Auto Transport: Car & Home Moving Guide
- Brands We Ship
- Brokers VS. Carriers
- Colleges We Ship To
- Cost Estimations By Distance & Locations
- Current Seasonal Discounts & Specials
- How Long Will It Take To Ship My Car?
- How Much Does It Cost?
- How To Prepare your Vehicle
- How to Protect Your Interests as a Client when Requesting Auto Shipping Services
- How To Ship a Vehicle: The Full Process
- Importing Your Car Into The USA
- Locations We Ship To
- Our Green Initiatives
- Our Philosophy
- Researching Brokers Beforehand
- Special Rates For Car Dealers
- The Top 4 National Auto Transport Companies
- US Laws and Standards on Importing a Motor Vehicle
- What Makes Us Better?
- Auto, Classic Car & Motorcycle Show Directory